Blancpain announces the winner of the Female Fifty Fathoms Award and the other laureates of the Ocean Photographer of the Year 2022 competition

The 2022 Ocean Photographer of the Year (OPY) competition has drawn to a close with some stunning undersea images taken across the planet by dozens of talented photographers. Blancpain and Oceanographic Magazine are delighted to reveal the names of the winners in all categories of the competition, including for the Female Fifty Fathoms prize awarded by Blancpain. This announcement coincides with the opening of an outdoor exhibition of the winning photographs taking place along the banks of the Thames (The Queen’s Walk, London) from 5 to 27 October 2022.

© Banner Image: Ben Thouard, Ocean Photographer of the Year 2022

The competition’s grand prix was awarded to Ben Thouard (France), along with the accolade of Ocean Photographer of the Year 2022. Based in French Polynesia, Ben Thouard was unanimously chosen for his breathtaking image of a surfer riding one of the world’s largest and most famous waves, Teahupo’o.

opy22_overall_3 - BROPET
opy22_overall_2 - KATLU



The second Female Fifty Fathoms Award (FFF) was won by Australian photographer Brooke Pyke. Launched last year with the aim of encouraging women to share their perceptions of the undersea world, submissions in this category doubled in 2022 compared to 2021. In accordance with the FFF award regulations, Brooke Pyke was nominated for the competition by a third party who admires her work and commitment to the ocean.

Brooke Pyke will be presented with her prize: a Fifty Fathoms Bathyscaphe watch from Blancpain’s iconic collection of diving watches. With a diameter of 38 mm, this model in steel has a blue sunburst dial. It is equipped with the Manufacture’s traditional unidirectional rotating bezel with ceramic insert. The piece houses Blancpain’s automatic 1150 movement, with a gold rotor engraved with the inscription “Female Fifty Fathoms 2022”.

Links and information:, to discover all the finalists’ photos, as well as the names of the competition winners and the members of the panel, to learn more about the Blancpain Ocean Commitment